How Safe is Your Vape?

Jahan Marcu, Ph.D.

Jahan Marcu, PhD, reports on the hidden dangers of propylene glycol and vape pens that smolder.

toxics_250

Portable electronic devices, known as “vape pens,” are increasingly popular among medical marijuana patients and others because they provide a convenient, discreet, and presumably benign way to administer cannabis. But how safe are vape pens and the liquid solutions inside the cartridges that attach to these devices? Who knows what’s actually being inhaled?

It’s generally assumed that vaping is a healthier method of administration than inhaling marijuana smoke, which contains noxious substances that may irritate the lungs. Since a vaporizer heats the cannabis flower or oil concentrate without burning it, the active ingredients are inhaled but no smoke is involved. At least that’s how it’s supposed to work.

But there may be a hidden downside to vape pens, which are manufactured (typically in China), marketed, and utilized without regulatory controls. Available…

View original post 1,565 more words

13 thoughts on “How Safe is Your Vape?

Add yours

  1. An interesting article. I agree that skin irritation is a known side-effect of inhaling the glycerol. I have not used the pre-filled cartridges though, so cannot comment on those. After vaping for five years, I have not suffered from any respiratory problems myself; and even given the lack of information about the long-term effects, it still has to be a better option that using ‘real’ cigarettes.
    Of course, the very best option is to use nothing at all.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I agree the best option is to use nothing at all. But as an avid vaper I would still have to say from this article the only worry I have is the propylene glycol, which is used in the e-juice is possibly converted into formaldehyde when burned at high temperatures, is something I do not want to consume into my lungs/body. But out of the 4k chemicals that are in cigarettes I believe formaldehyde is already a component of cigarettes too. So if this study is true vaping is still far healthier than smoking cigs. Also it says due to this study there is no findings that vaping produces cancer, which is good. Although it is hard to find evidence for long-term use because vaping has only been around for about 10+ years. But thank you for your comment Pete. I have a personal question for you. What strength of nicotine do you use in your liquid? Do you think you will ever quit vaping?

      Like

      1. I use high strength nicotine, 18 mg. I tried using the 12 mg when I started, but as it wasn’t satisfying enough, I ended up using more. Have you heard about the safer, vegetable glycerin for vaping? That might be a good alternative for you. Here’s a link.
        https://quitsmokingcommunity.org/e-liquid/benefits-of-100-vg-vegetable-glycerin-e-liquid/
        You would have to mix the fluid yourself, but my neighbour swears by this alternative.
        Best wishes, Pete.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes I have heard of the vegetable glycerine option. I would mix the liquid myself. Especially if this would be a cheaper alternative. As I am finding I am spending over $20 a bottle every three or four days. It might be fun to make my own flavor combinations and stuff like that too. I just hope I wouldn’t make some gross tasting combinations as I love the flavors that I have right now. My favorite being Pineapple Express and pineapple coconut and mango. I vape 6mg nicotine strength right now but my goal is to go down to zero. The less nicotine you have the better flavor you get too!

        Like

      3. Very true. My neighbour has mixed his own for a few years, buying the fluids in bulk online. It works out very cheap indeed. Well done with the 6 mg strength.
        I used to smoke full-strength Lucky Strike cigarettes, so needed to keep around that level.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes it’s a much better alternative to cigarettes and I would say if you are vaping than there is no reason to quit for fear you might go back to smoking cigarettes. I’m so happy I found vaping if I knew it was completely harmless I would say “vape on for life!” But when I hear things like it turns into formaldehyde I start to think twice. I don’t want an iron lung. But thank you for the information on going with the vegetable glycerine, I will definitely look into that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

In A Messy World

I live in a world of fantasy, so keep your reality away from me.

Theory of The Week

Crackpot and conspiracy theories in one place

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

Web Design Ideas & Inspiration

CS 57.11 // Santa Rosa Junior College

A journey through the Beer/Space continuum

“Beer recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Fred Maguire

Kana Wanders

Life in Kana-text (er... CONtext)

Touched2MySoul.com

Childhood abuse is a life altering experience. Everything that follows is the recovery.... Sharing my experience, to show that you are not alone...

The Girly With Green Eyes

The truth about life

